SLDS Governing Board

Virtual Meeting

MINUTES

March 29, 2023

In Attendance: See attached

Call to Order:

Chair Patrick Sullivan called the meeting to order at 11:02 a.m. A quorum of the Board was present.

Chair Sullivan added two items to the agenda before asking for board approval of the agenda: appropriation of SLDS and Chairman selection for compliance.

A **motion** was made by John Kraman was make to approve the agenda. Laura Hipp seconded the motion. Motion carried.

A **motion** was made by John Kraman to approve the minutes from the previous meeting. Motion was seconded by Laura Hipp. Motion carried.

Chair Sullivan referred to a formal objection from MDE regarding the proposed revisions to the Statewide Longitudinal Data System (SLDS) administrative rules and asked for discussion. John Kraman stated the proposed revisions to the administrative rules removed the ability of MDE to maintain FERPA obligations and further explained the possible ramifications. The objections were taken into consideration.

A **motion** was made by Bob Anderson to move forward with the rules as approved earlier. Laura Hipp seconded the motion. Motion carried by role vote.

Chair Sullivan asked for nominations for next board chair since his term has expired. Robin Stewart **nominated** Patrick Sullivan. Laura Hipp seconded the nomination/motion. Motion carried.

Chair Sullivan will schedule another meeting in the near future for an in-person meeting.

John Kraman thanked the board for their patience in hearing out the concerns of MDE.

A **motion** was made by Bob Anderson to adjourn. Kell Smith seconded the motion. Motion carried.

	A	В	С	D
1	March 29, 2023 - Virtual			
2	SLDS Governing Board Members	Email	Present	Proxy
3	Alfred Rankins, Jr.	arankins@ihl.state.ms.us		
4	Andrea Sanders	Andrea.Sanders@mdcps.ms.gov	Р	
5	Baylea Blough	bblough@mdek12.org		
6	Bob Anderson	Bob.Anderson@mdhs.ms.gov	Х	
7	Burl Cain	bcain@mdoc.state.ms.us		
8	Chris Howard	choward@mders.ms.gov	Р	Kevin Bishop
9	Holly Spivey	hspivey@mdek12.org		
10	Kell Smith	ksmith@mccb.edu	Χ	
11	Laura Hipp	Ihopp@missisippi.org	Х	
12	Patrick Sullivan (Chair)	psullivan@mei.ms	Х	
13	Robert Taylor	rtaylor@mdek12.org	Р	John Kraman
14	Robin Stewart	Rstewart@mdes.ms.gov	Х	
15	SLDS Governing Board Designees			
16	Audrey McAfee	AMcAfee@mdoc.state.ms.us		
17	Bill Ashley	bashley@mississippi.org	Х	
18	John Kraman	jkraman@mdek12.org		
19	Mitzi Gendron	mgendron@igl.state.ms.us	X	
20				
21	SLDS Clearinghouse Representatives			
22	Cory Hancock	<pre>chancock@nsparc.msstate.edu</pre>		
23	Libbi Bryant Havelin-Admin	libbi@nsparc.msstate.edu		
24	Michael Taquino	Mtaquino@nsparc.msstate.edu	Х	
	Michael Spanbauer	mspnabauer@nsparc.msstate.edu	Х	
26	Steven Grice	SGrice@nsparc.msstate.edu		
27	Additional Invitees			
28	Daniel Edney	Daniel.Edney@msdh.ms.gov	Р	Justin Turner
29	Deborah Douglas (scheduler for R. Taylor)	ddouglas@mdek12.org		
30	Donna Hollis	Dhollis@mdes.ms.gov	Х	
31	Erin Meyer		Х	
32	Glenda Wood	gwood@mdes.ms.gov	Х	
33	Kim Turner	Kim.Turner@ago.ms.gov	Х	
34	Laura Ring	<u>Lring@mdes.ms.gov</u>	Х	
35	Leslie Charlton		Χ	